University Awards

Students line the stage at the Awards Banquet. There is a row of students, both male and female, in semi-formal attire - suits, jackets, and dresses.
Monday, May 5, 2014

On Sunday night, the Adele H. Stamp Student Union hosted the Thirty Third Annual University Awards. The awards recognize scholars and leaders at the University of Maryland for their contributions to the campus and community.

The event, sponsored by The Stamp and Omicron Delta Kappa, featured awards from all over campus life. Honorees include:

Omicron Delta Kappa Top Ten Freshmen
Sade Ayinde
Samantha Bingaman
Austin Feng
Louis Kuta
Amy Liang
Ellie Silverman
Katherine Swanson
Tessa Trach
Rachel Zemel
Kathy Zhang

Omicron Delta Kappa Sophomore Leader of the Year 
Nicholas Henninger

Col. J. Logan Schutz Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year
Christopher Riley

Col. J. Logan Schutz Legacy Scholarship
Abigail Malkin

Kirwan Award
Fang Cao

University Health Center Leadership Award
Lucille Ridgell

Maryland Images Volunteer of the Year Award
Melia Stuppy

OMSE Award for Outstanding Multi-Ethnic Campus Organization
Stories Beneath the Shell News

OMSE Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Award
Fang Cao

Student Affairs Outstanding Student Employee Award
Alexis Anthony
Jorge Herrera

Lorde-O’Leary Award
Mindy Wu

Outstanding Graduate Student Assembly Member Award
Miriam Sharp

Greek Leader of the Year Award
Cody Hobelmann

Outstanding Chapter President of the Year Award
Joseph Toth

Vera Cruz-Kochiyama Award
Andrew Aggabao

Rebecca Williams Award for Commitment to Social Change
Mykell Hatcher-McLarin

Adele H. Stamp Memorial Award
Fang Cao

La Raza Unida Award
Karen Guzman

Emma Powers Student Employee of the Year Award
Sarah Goff

Department of Dining Services Christopher Carey Customer Service Award
Emilie Virgilio

Resident Assistant of the Year Awards

Cambridge Community 
Angela Natoli

Denton Community
Kayla Miner

Ellicott Community
Chelsea Bradford

North Hill & Leonardtown Community
Shannon James

South Campus Community Commons
Kaaren Kargobo-Reffell

South Hill Community
Elizabeth Chagnon

Letters and Sciences Outstanding Student Award
Nicholas Blue

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics Student Athlete of the Year Awards
Patrick Mullins
Alyssa Thomas

Mary McLeod Bethune Award
Wendell Alston, Jr.

William L. Thomas Student Government Association Award
Andrew Aggabao

John B. Slaughter Outstanding Senior Award
Wendell Alston, Jr.

James Otis Williams Cultural Leadership Award
Andrew Mulinge

Meghan Price Scholarship Award for Leadership and Public Service
Sarah Ferrell

James Kehoe and Ethel Kesler Awards
Michelle Ako
Jorge Herrera

Camille K. Rajpat Memorial Award for Outstanding Member of the University Student Judiciary
Catherine Thompson

Pavela Prize for Distinguished Contributions to the University of Maryland Academic Integrity and Student Ethical Development Program
M’Shae Alderman

Outstanding Advisor for a Student Organization
Elizabeth Maring

Graduate Student Distinguished Service Award
David Colón-Cabrera

Wilson H. Elkins Award
Christopher Riley

H.C. Byrd Award
Vaughn Midder

Sally Sterling Byrd Award
Stephanie Graf

A full list of the evening’s honorees is listed in Tuesday's edition of the Diamondback. You can find a link to that page here

For more information on the awards and and to view photos from the evening, visit

Adele H. Stamp Student Union, Awards, Event