Skip to main content

Student Affairs Affinity Spaces

The Division of Student Affairs is excited to continue to offer affinity space groups for all employees (non-exempt, exempt, CC1, graduate student staff, DSA employees, and non-DSA employees) to strengthen the relationships within our Terrapin community.  Affinity spaces provide informal ways for staff to connect with others of a shared identity or common interest through meet-ups, lunches, networking, dialogues, information sharing, or events.  Each group defines how they want to be in community with one another and there are opportunities for staff to create new groups if interested.  

If you would like to participate in a group, please reach out directly to the facilitator.  If you would like to start a group, please reach out to Nicole Mehta or Malia Witherspoon, SADI Co-Chairs.

2021 DSA Affinity Space Groups

Expressive Arts

Facilitator: Kate Blanch (kblanch@umd.edu)
Email Kate if you are interested in joining this group.

Latinas in Student Affairs

Facilitator: Nicole Garcia Diaz (ngdiaz@umd.edu)
Email Nicole if you are interested in joining this group. 

LGBTQ+

Facilitator: Daniel Ostick (dostick@umd.edu)
Email Daniel if you are interested in joining this group.

Parents of Teenagers

Facilitator: Laura Tan (lauratan@umd.edu)
Email Laura if you are interested in joining this group.

Pet Parents

Facilitator: Eva Quintos Tennant (eqtenn@umd.edu)
Email Eva if you are interested in joining or co-facilitating this group.
Group and Sign-Up Information: go.umd.edu/SAPetParents

Queer People of Faith

Facilitator: Lorae Bonamy (lorae@umd.edu)
Email Lorae if you are interested in joining this group.

Student Affairs Dads

Facilitator: Mike Paszkiewicz (paz@umd.edu)
Email Mike if you are interested in joining this group. 

Disability

Facilitator: Ray Nardella (rnardell@umd.edu)
Email Ray if you are interested in joining this group.

Veterans/Military-Connected

Facilitator: David M Reese (dmreese@umd.edu)
Group and Sign-Up Information: stamp.umd.edu/VetAffinity

Women in Student Affairs

Facilitator: Laura Tan (lauratan@umd.edu)
Email Laura if you are interested in joining this group. 

Womxn of Color in Student Affairs

Facilitator: Mel. Coles (mcoles@umd.edu)
Co-Collaborators: Jamila Aswad (jaswad@umd.edu) and Imani Burwell (iburwell@umd.edu)
Email the Facilitator and/or Collaborators if interested in joining the group. 

Working Moms

Facilitator: Laura Hood (lcm@umd.edu)
Listserv: Working Moms List - email lcm@umd.edu to gain access
Group Email: saworkingmoms@umd.edu
Facebook (new since COVID-19):  www.facebook.com/groups/umdmoms/
Email Laura if you are interested in joining this group. 

Back to Top